Sharing Files in the SuiteFiles web app

In the SuiteFiles web app you can share files with both internal and external users. An internal user is a user in your SuiteFiles site. An external user is someone who isn't a user in your SuiteFiles site and therefore doesn't have access to your site.

Contents:


To share a file with an internal user:

  • Click on the three dots at the far right of the file listed in the file pane,
  • Click the "Share" button,

  • Type the username you wish to share the file with,
  • Select the user from the drop-down list which appears below your typing,

  • The user's name will then have a white rectangle around it which represents this being an internal user.
  • You can then enter a message for the user and select one of the simple reasons for sharing using one of the three toggle buttons,
  • You can add multiple users by typing another user's name and then selecting them from the drop-down list again,
  • To share the file simply click the blue "SHARE" button at the bottom right of the window.


To Share a file with an external user:

  • Click on the three dots at the far right of the file listed in the file pane,
  • Click the "Share" button,

  • Type the external users full email address and then press the ENTER key on your keyboard
  • The user's name will then have an orange rectangle around it which represents this being an external user.
  • You can then enter a message for the user and select one of the simple reasons for sharing using one of the three toggle buttons,
  • You can add multiple users by typing another external users email address and then pressing the ENTER key again
  • To share the file simply click the blue "SHARE" button at the bottom right of the window.


Notifications received by internal users:

  • When a file is shared with an internal user they will receive an email notification and a notification in their SuiteFiles site which both have a link to the file in SuiteFiles. The shared file with also appear under the users "Tasks" tab.
  • The user who shared the file can also see the file under their "Tasks" tab in the Sent filter.
  • If the file is marked as done, the user who shared the file will receive a SuiteFiles and email notification letting them know the file's been updated.

Notifications received by external users:

  • When a file is shared with an external user, the external user will receive an email which contains a link to download a COPY of the file. They do not have a link to the file in your SuiteFiles site and gain no access to your SuiteFiles site or any other files other than the one file shared with them.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us